Wooden Scissors?

Yeah, I have no idea either.

Basically, the story behind this one is I got to wondering (always a bad thing) how scissors worked. Eventually I realised that the cutting was not due to sharpness, but to the shear force of the blades against each other. That’s why, if you look at scissor blades closely, you’ll see that they’re curved toward each other, so there’s constant pressure on the thing they’re cutting.

But anyway. Next, I got to wondering if I could utilise the same principle to make a pair of scissors with wood. This is why you shouldn’t leave me alone with a pair of scissors.

I started with a pair of actual metal scissors that I could take apart. Of course, after taking them apart I promptly lost the fastener, but you needn’t worry about that. We have plenty of scissors for me to ruin use.

IMG_1089.jpg

Then I took them apart. Duh.

IMG_1090.jpg

Next came the challenge of deciding what wood to use. I eventually settled on bamboo, because it’s quite springy and hard. Unfortunately, the bamboo I have is from the wall of the shoot, which is, of course, curved.

IMG_1093.jpg

Here you see how I measured the length of the piece that I needed.

IMG_1091.jpg

IMG_1092.jpg

Of course, I needed the blades to be straight, so I used a technique I’ve seen used to flatten pieces of wood too small to fit through a table-saw:

IMG_1094.jpg

Hot-gluing the piece to a longer board, like a 2×4 or a long, straight plank. Hot glue, man. Solves all life’s problems.

IMG_1095.jpg

After running the board through once on each side, I had a perfectly straight piece of bamboo to work with.

IMG_1096.jpg

Next, I traced the shape of the scissor blades onto the bamboo, then cut them out with a hacksaw a wood-cutting (18 teeth per inch) blade, and a couple of files.

IMG_1097.jpg

IMG_1098.jpg

Here is the first glimpse of the final shape. Of course, I couldn’t do any kind of fancy pivot fastening, so I just used a bolt and nut.

IMG_1099.jpg

IMG_1100.jpg

Real sophisticated, Tim. Extra Fancy™. Now came the finger-holes to make it even a tiny bit workable.

IMG_1101.jpg

IMG_1102.jpg

I did those with a drill bit and half-round and round files. At this point, I decided it was time to test this ridiculous implement. You can see that here.

Now came the purely aesthetic process of sanding. I sanded the finger-holes, as well as any bits that would have been plastic.

Naturally, being an idiot, I tried to refine the blades, and ended up rounding them past the point of no return, and now they don’t work. Good job, Tim. Gold star for you.

Hey, at least I have that nifty video, huh?

*sigh*

So anyway, that’s it for now. God bless, and I will see you next time!

Leave a Reply

