Pop-Tab Bottle Opener

Yet another one of my hare-brained schemes? Woohoo!

This one came about because I was staring absent-mindedly at a pop-tab on a ginger-ale can, and a little voice in the back of my head said, ‘Hey, this would make a great bottle opener!’. Yeah. Sometimes I confuse even myself. So without further ado, let’s get this project going!

Here is the offending ginger-ale can. Now you know what to blame.

IMG_1172.jpg

The first thing to do was, obviously, to take the measurements of the tab, and create a ratio to plug the maximum width into, so I could… um… w-well, uh…

HAHA NEVER MIND LET’S JUST FREEHAND IT SHALL WE?

Well, after that embarrassing mishap, I managed to get back on track, and freehanded the shape onto a 2″ x 1/8″ bar of aluminium.

IMG_1174.jpg

Then I cut the outside to shape with an 18 teeth per inch blade on my hacksaw.

IMG_1176.jpg

Next I drilled a couple holes in the bits that were supposed to have holes in them, then sawed and filed them into shape, as well as rounding the sharp edges.

IMG_1177.jpg

IMG_1178.jpg

Now just to test it on a bottle, and… oh. Um. I-it doesn’t work.

Huh. I guess it’s time to break out the actual bottle opener.

IMG_1179.jpg

I traced the shape of the hole on this opener onto the smaller hole of my pop-tab, then filed it down to that shape.

IMG_1180.jpg

IMG_1181.jpg

And it’s done! Believe it or not, it actually does open bottles, so I’ll definitely be using this the next time a bottle needs opening!

Well, that’s all for this time. God bless, and I’ll see you next time!

Leave a Reply

