How to Make Cold-Brew Tea

Hello again! After an entire month of inactivity (mostly due to laziness and Spring Break) I’m back with another food-related article. So, let’s get to it!

In my opinion, tea is one of the joys of life. In fact, I love it so much I have a giant thermos flask that can hold almost a litre of the stuff.

But one of the problems I find myself running into more often than not is that with so much tea, it can take hours to cool down to drinkable temperatures. I know some people can just drink it at boiling temperatures, but alas! I am not one of them. Now, another problem that I have is that I find it ridiculously hard to get the tea to the right – brewedness? That is, the tea is either too watery or too bitter. But recently I have discovered how to get around both these problems in an incredibly simple way: cold-brewing.

“What is cold-brewing?”, you may ask. Basically, coffee is made when the particles are diffused throughout a cup of water. There are two ways of doing this. The first is to use hot water. This has the advantage of making the drink very fast, but it can also cause the product to be quite bitter.

This is where cold-brewing comes in. This second method forgoes heat entirely, instead requiring the coffee to be steeped for a very long time at room- or fridge-temperatures. Despite how long it takes, it is surprisingly simple. I first discovered this after seeing a carton of cold-brewed coffee in a supermarket in the U.S.

Some time later, I found myself wondering if the same principle could be applied to tea (mainly because mum thought that over a tablespoon of sugar was too much to be adding to a litre of tea). As it turns out, it was! I left a cup of tap-cold water out overnight with a bag of Orange Pekoe (just regular black tea) in, and another cup with Earl Grey, and the next day I was met with a complete success and two delicious, not bitter or watery cups of tea into the bargain. I even took a time-lapse!

There’s not much to making it, so here’s all you need to do:

  • Put the teabag in
  • Leave it for several hours (starting at 9:00 or 10:00 PM and drinking it when I wake up seems to work pretty well for me)
  • Enjoy!

Now, I just drink it plain, but if you want to add sugar you can either put it in with the teabag at the beginning of the process or make a syrup with hot water and the desired amount of sugar and add it at the end. You can also add milk or lemon (but not both) if you want. I have only tried this with Orange Pekoe and Earl Grey, but I’m sure it would work with fruit teas too. It’s up to you to experiment! Only don’t leave the teabag in for more than 12 hours, or it will get bitter.

And that’s it! I’m sorry that this post didn’t have any pictures, but there’s only so many ways to document something so slow. If you try this with anything new, do let me know!

God bless!

Leave a Reply

