How to Make Easy Meringues

Now, I can’t cook. I’m working on it (and I make a mean omelette), but anything much harder is beyond me. So imagine my delight when I discovered how to make meringues! In case you don’t know, a meringue is simply a mix of egg and sugar, beaten and baked into crispy perfection. But what if you can’t even tell one end of a thermometer from the other? Simple.

You will need:

  • Marshmallows
  • A microwave oven
  • Parchment paper
  • And that’s it
  • Seriously

Place your marshmallows on a piece of parchment paper so that they are spaced out. I used mini marshmallows and managed to fit quite a few on the paper, but if you’re using regular marshmallows (which I don’t suggest) you will only be able to fit one at a time.

IMG_2374.JPG

Note: don’t put them like this. I put my parchment paper on a plate, but it made all the marshmallows roll together in the middle. Place them on a sheet about the size of your turntable, spaced 25-ish mm (that’s about 1 inch) apart, and nuke ’em ’till they stop expanding. Then pull them out of the microwave and leave them to cool. If you do it right and they don’t touch in the microwave, they will have roughly the same texture as real meringues, if a bit flatter, and preferably not look like mine:

IMG_2377.JPG

You’ll probably have to play with the timing a bit, and you probably can’t serve them as a dessert with guests, but they make an excellent midnight snack. And if you don’t want to make them, here‘s a video of what it would look like if you did.

Leave a Reply

