14,631 Digits of Tau

I’m just going to go ahead and say it: I like maths. I don’t know why, and whenever I tell someone, they look at me like I’m insane. You’re probably thinking the same thing yourself. Maybe even staring at your screen, baffled. Stop staring at your screen! But regardless, I like maths. And one thing I feel quite strongly about is Tau. Now, you’re probably wondering, “What is Tau?”. If you don’t already know, here is a link to an excellent video by Brady Haran, featuring Professor Phil Moriarty, explaining what it is, and why to use it. If, however, watching ten-minute videos on maths is not your thing, suffice it to say that Tau is the ratio of a circle’s radius to its circumference, or 2 Pi. Basically, where Pi = c/d, Tau = r/d. Now, you have probably seen those “Million Digits of Pi” posters, but I couldn’t find any equivalents for Tau. So, I did what anyone would have done. I made my own. I started with the first 100,000 digits, pasted them into Pages, and quickly realised that there was no way I could make all 100,000 fit onto a single page. So, after much painful cutting, pasting, selecting, colouring, and so on, I made this.

IMG_2146.JPG

Yes, that is a “14,631 digits of Tau” image. 14,631 has no particular meaning, except that it was the most numbers I could fit onto my page. I have never been so proud of something in my life!

If you want one of these too, I want to save you the pain and the neck cramps, so here is the document.

14631-digits-of-tau

And no, in case you were wondering, the 7 “9’s” highlighted in purple are not a mistake, but rather an interesting phenomenon called the “Feynman Point”. More on that here.

Enjoy, and if you actually make one of these, please tell me in the comment section.

God bless!

Leave a Reply

