Isshoes

Right off the bat, I’d like to apologize for the pun in the title. It was too good a chance to pass up. With that said, let us begin. As you may have guessed, today’s project involves shoes. These ones, to be precise.

As you can see, they have huge holes in them. Well, the right one, that is. I took the liberty of inserting a screw into the hole in the other one so you could see it. The thing is, though, I like these shoes, and although I have another (new) pair, I figured these would come in handy as work shoes, or whatnot. So I decided to repair them as best as I could. How? Hot glue!


But first, I had to kindasorta dismantle them. I started with the insoles, which had been worn clean through, and took them out. Then I unlaced them. One of the lace sleeves had frayed clean through, and the other one was heading down that path too, and I had no intention of putting them back, so I just cut the end off the frayed one. It made it a lot easier to pull out. 


Then I covered the holes with duct tape. This, unfortunately, was unnecessary, and didn’t help. 


Next, I just filled the holes with hot glue, then waited for it to cool. And now comes the part where I wonder if it’s possible to get blisters through fingernails (hint: it isn’t, but it does hurt like crazy for about ten seconds or so).

Then I just re-inserted the insoles, re-laced the shoes (with the spare laces from my new shoes), and that was it! Here they are on my feet.


So, I hope you enjoyed, God bless, and I’ll see you next time!

Leave a Reply

