A Paradoxical Puzzle

Mitsunobu Matsuyama. This name may not be familiar to you, but he did come up with a very strange puzzle. This is my take on it. Also, here is the template I used.
I started with some free pallet wood, and laid out my template on it.

IMG_1317
Then I cut it out. These are almost always the first couple of steps in any project that I do.

IMG_1318
Then I cut out the individual shapes.

IMG_1319
Next… Well, actually, at this point you could actually call it done, so it is done enough to show you its secrets.

IMG_1319

IMG_1320
Yes, you just saw that. And if you aren’t convinced, here it is again, but with measurements.

IMG_1321IMG_1322IMG_1323IMG_1324

Yep. Next, I marked the pieces so I could figure out how to put it back together, then rounded the corners with files and sandpaper.

IMG_1326IMG_1328IMG_1327So, how does this work? Well, you know how I kind of implied that the measurements were the same? I lied. If you measured it very carefully, you would see that the angles were very slightly off, and the angles were very slightly different. These factors make it so that the spaces, when rearranged in a certain way, form a square. You could see this if you tried to make a box that fit the pieces perfectly in one orientation. If you tried to then rearrange the pieces the other way, you would not be able to get them back in, and you would end up messing up your box, your pieces, and your sanity… Wait, how did you know I tried?
But anyway, hope you enjoyed, God bless, and I will see you (at least figuratively!) in the next post. Bye!.

One thought on “A Paradoxical Puzzle

Leave a Reply

