Guitar Repairs

As some of you may know, I have a guitar. Recently, it has been “acting up”, so to speak, and the tuning had gone all wonky, changing drastically every day. This was rather annoying for a while, but then I realized that the neck, where all the tension was, looked like this:


In case you can’t see it, the problem here is that there is a huge (relatively) gap right where all the tension is placed. Today, I’m going to show you how I fixed it.

I started by taking all the strings off, like so:

 Next, I took it to the shop, and squashed some wood glue in the gap.

 I needed to clamp it, and didn’t have the right clamps, so I used the most glamorous thing I could think of: rubber bands.

 Then I cleaned up the squeeze-out and let it set overnight. The next day, it was cured and ready to go. I tightened up the strings, and the joint held. The tuning still gets messed up, but less so. Here’s the guitar after fixing:

 So much better now!

That’s all for this time, have a wonder-filled week. Wait, what? That’s not our outro? Dang.

Leave a Reply

